Brevity? Not so much.

by Aanya F Niaz

Someone the other day belittled our generation. He said we’d become increasingly “objective” and no longer surveyed the horizons of our thoughts, but succumbed to excruciatingly definite opinions. With two worlds colliding, which I’ll highlight shortly, I look outwards for a hearty convincing conclusion. Perhaps there isn’t one. Most likely there is no one answer. We are becoming obsessively vivacious with advancements, whether it be a device in our hands or one that is structured into our bedrooms. Are we really losing our creative battle to what is most obvious? In today’s land of warring minds and zones of idealistic thought, I’m bewildered by the two-sided, slightly moronic, however never redundant controversy over how we are losing touch with the sense of touch itself. No longer are we host to moments of ecstasy exchanged within a singular glance. Neither do we pen down, in black ink, with a fountain feather pen our concerns of Shakespearean love. But have we really forgotten how eyes can speak louder than words? Have we become abruptly silent with our expressions? What about our devotion to love and other disasters? Brevity is the order of the day, whether it’s in an e-mail or a text but I find it hard to verbalize every aching thought. Am I the only one? Should I be objective or subjective or should I just remain in limbo? I can conveniently divide my expressive habits; brief, to the point messages in the professional world and a verbose manner with friends and foes alike but what if, amidst the tantalizing glamour of worldliness I want to say everything that comes to mind and never choose my words wisely? What if in every scenario I want to convey inspiration. How do I amalgamate my comprehension of expression with the rest of the world. 

